The 2018 round of then NSW Environmental Trust’s Protecting Our Places grant program will close Monday, 8 October 2018 (3pm). Aboriginal organisations around NSW are now invited to submit applications.

Funding is available to Aboriginal community groups and organisations throughout NSW for projects that encourage and empower Aboriginal communities to protect, conserve and restore cultural landscapes that are of importance to local Aboriginal communities.

The following NSW Aboriginal community organisations/groups can apply:

Local Aboriginal Land Councils
Registered Native Title groups
Aboriginal incorporated community organisation
Unincorporated Aboriginal organisations and groups supported by another organisation (e.g. NPWS, LLS, LALC, NGO, local council, etc)
Grants of up to $60,000 are available over two stages:

Stage 1: Planning – up to $10,000
Stage 2: Implementation – up to $50,000
An additional $5,000 will be allocated per grantee for organisational capacity building training and mentoring.

Each project must be led by an Aboriginal organisation. However, applicants are encouraged to work in partnership with other relevant stakeholders (i.e. Council, LLS, OEH, etc.) to strengthen their project proposals.

If your organisation is not incorporated, or does not have the capacity to manage the financial aspects of the project, you may nominate another organisation to administer the grant funds on your behalf. The administrator must be an incorporated or registered organisation (e.g. LALC, NGO, local council, etc.).

Applications close 3pm Monday 8 October 2018.

Application materials
Guidelines, application forms and a range of resources are available on the Trust’s website

Contact the Trust Administration on (02) 8837 6093 or email:

To find out about other grants programs delivered by the Environmental Trust, please visit the Trust website

NSW Environmental Trust
PO Box 644, Parramatta NSW 2124
(Level 4, 10 Valentine Avenue, Parramatta NSW 2150)
Phone 02 8837 6093
Fax 02 9895 6548

The NSW Environmental Trust is administered by the Office of Environment and Heritage

Share This